Maine Revised Statutes

Title 28-A: LIQUORS
Chapter 25: GENERAL PROVISIONS

8601. ELIGIBILITY

1. Eligibility qualifications. The bureau may not issue alicense to an applicant unless that applicant
meets the following qualifications.

A. If the applicant is an individual, the applicant must be:
(2) At least 21 years of age; and
(2) A citizen of the United States. [ 1993, c¢. 730, 8§26 (AMD).]

B. If the applicant is a partnership or association, each person having an interest in the partnership or
association must be:

(1) At least 21 years of age; and
(2) A citizen of the United States. [ 1993, c¢. 730, 826 (AMD).]

C. If the applicant is a corporation, it must be incorporated under the laws of the State or authorized to
transact businessinthe State. [ 1987, c¢. 45, Pt. A, 84 (NEW.]

[ 1993, c. 730, §26 (AMVD) .]

2. Disgualifications. The bureau may not issue a license to an applicant if:

A. Any of the principal officers of the corporation is not personally eligible because that officer has had
alicense for sale of liquor revoked under chapter 33, if the applicant isacorporation; [ 1997, c.
373, 851 (AMD).]

B. The applicant held alicense that was revoked for a specific period under chapter 33 and the applicant
isapplying for alicense within that period since revocation; [ 1997, c. 373, 851 (AMD).]

C. The applicant, who was not at the time of the offense the holder of aliquor license, was convicted

of violating any laws of the State or the United States with respect to manufacture, transportation,
importation, possession or sale of liquor within 5 years of applying for the license. For the purposes of
this paragraph, any person who sellsliquor of a greater alcohol content than authorized by that person's
license is not considered the holder of alicense; [ 1997, c. 373, 851 (AMD).]

D. The applicant was convicted of selling liquor illegally on Sunday while an employee or agent of a
licensee within 5 years of applying for thelicense; [ 1987, c¢. 45, Pt. A, 84 (NEW.]

E. The applicant's license expired pending an appeal from conviction of illegally selling liquor on
Sunday within 5 years of applying for thelicense; [ 1987, c¢. 45, Pt. A, 84 (NEW.]

F. The applicant is alaw enforcement officer or if alaw enforcement officer benefits directly from the
issuance of thelicense; [ 2013, c¢. 168, 81 (RPR).]

G. The applicant was denied a license within the 6 months before the application was filed, unless
the bureau's denial of the license is overruled by the court under an appeal provided by section 805;
[1997, c. 373, 851 (AMD).]

H. The applicant is the husband, wife, father, mother, child or other close relation of a person whose
license or application for alicense for the same premises was revoked by the District Court Judge or
denied by the bureau within the 6 months before the application wasfiled; [ 1997, c. 373, 851
(AMD); 1999, c. 547, Pt. B, 878 (AWMD); 1999, c. 547, Pt. B, 880
(AFF) . ]
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I. The bureau determines that the purpose of the application is to circumvent the provisions of this
section; or [ 1997, c. 373, 851 (AMD).]

J. The applicant isa golf club or arestaurant located on the property of agolf club and the Maine Human
Rights Commission has found reasonable grounds to believe that the golf club has denied membership to
aperson inviolation of Title 5, chapter 337, subchapter V, and has determined that conciliation efforts
under Title 5, chapter 337, section 4612, subsection 3 have not succeeded. The Maine Human Rights
Commission shall notify the bureau when the golf club has corrected its discriminatory membership
practices, after which the applicant ceases to be disqualified under this paragraph. [ 1997, c. 373,
8§51 (AMD).]

[ 2013, c. 168, §1 (AWD) .]
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